Our Grounds

Step back in time as you explore our historic buildings and charming setting.

Our Grounds

The Granary

Along with the “Red Barn,” the Granary is one of the few surviving buildings original to the Anderson Estate. Today, the building is used to store tools, equipment, and supplies for the Macoupin County Master Gardeners group to maintain the adjacent herb garden and Victorian flower garden. During the Spring festival, it is the location for the Master Gardeners annual plant sale.

The Summer Kitchen & Wash House

Located on the north side of the Anderson Home, the Wash House is a reminder of life in a bygone time. It was customary, particularly among upper class households, to have a separate building for laundering and for cooking during the summer. Maintaining a “summer kitchen” helped keep the living quarters cooler during the summer months.

The Country Schoolhouse

The MCHS Country School was moved to the Society’s grounds from another location. It has been restored to duplicate the furnishings and look of a rural one-room school. The restoration includes actual slate blackboards, student desks, a raised teacher’s station, a wood-burning stove, and period educational materials. During the Spring and Fall festivals, the building is open to visitors and youngsters can “ring the bell” for a 10-cent donation.

The Rural Church

During the Spring and Fall festivals, the church is open for viewing. It also hosts a hymn singing event on Saturday and an ecumenical church service on Sunday. The church is available to rent as a wedding venue for small, private weddings.

The Heritage Museum

Originally Bldg #2, the Heritage Museum is a display building featuring exhibits related to domestic life, farming, and vocations from the 1800s forward. Among the items on display are a vintage Prairie Farms delivery truck, antique printing equipment, antique household items, antique toys, and so forth. After being closed for several years, volunteers reorganized and curated items to make a more meaningful experience for visitors reopening as the Heritage Museum at the Fall Festival September 2025.

The Blacksmith Shop

The MCHS Blacksmith Shop is home to the Macoupin County Blacksmiths and the hosting venue for the annual Illinois Valley Blacksmiths Association’s Hammer-In in November. The shop is a working blacksmith shop with multiple forges, anvils and assorted blacksmithing equipment. The shop produces numerous items for sale to the public including hand-forged shepherd hooks, Christmas stocking hangers, ladles, hot dog roasting forks and other items. The shop also is available for custom work. Contact Greg Brown at (618) 567-1512 to arranged for custom work.

The General Store

Located on the east-west street leading the the Macoupin County Agricultural Antiques Association, the General Store offers penny candies, cold drinks, souvenir items and one-of-kind antiques during the spring and fall festivals, as well as the MCHS Christmas Show in December. Costumed “proprietors” operate the store with proceeds benefitting the MCAAA.

The Print Shop

The Print Shop was constructed in the mid-1990s after the now-defunct Carlinville Democrat newspaper donated a Chandler and Price printing press, a Linotype typesetting machine, and a large paper cutter. The Print Shop also recently acquired a Heidelberg windmill press built in 1957. Printers hand-set type and print items such as shopping lists, notecards, Christmas cards, and more for sale. During the festivals, children can print a chore list, and once completed, turn it in at the General Store for candy.

The Sawmill

MCHS is proud to be the location of a working 19th century sawmill. During the spring and fall festivals, volunteers demonstrate converting logs into boards. A set of bleachers is available for visitors to view the operation from a safe distance. The sawmill is available for custom work. To arrange for custom work, please contact Greg Brown at (618) 567-1512.

The Sorghum Shack

During the fall festival, the Sorghum Shack comes to life as volunteers strip and squeeze sorghum cane grown on the MCHS property. The resulting juice is boiled down into molasses using a wood-fired evaporator. Sorghum molasses produced at the MCHS Sorghum Shack is available for purchase in the General Store.

The Ruyle Genealogy Library & Building

Built in 2011, the Ruyle Genealogy Bujlding honors the memory of long-time MCHS members and volunteers Henry and Alene Ruyle, Scottville. The genealogy library includes obituaries, family histories, county history and other materials utilized by researchers.

Mark Boullion Gas Station

A work in progress, the Mark Bouillon Service Station memorializes the late Mark Bouillon, a longtime MCAAA member and volunteer. Future plans include furnishing the interior and adding fuel pumps to the front of the building for permanent display.

The Red Barn

The “Red Barn” is one of the few remaining buildings original to the Anderson estate. MCHS added a concrete floor and other amenities to convert the building into a commercial kitchen and serving line. During the Spring and Fall festivals and Christmas at the Mansion, the “Red Barn” serves old-fashioned, home-cooked fare.

Fire Station

Built and maintained by the Carlinville Fire Protection District, the Firehouse houses displays of historic fire engines and fire fighting equipment. Included are a Stutz fire engine from 1924, a 1950 Mack fire engine, and an antique wheeled chemical fire extinguisher.

MCAAA Food Pavilion

The Macoupin County Agricultural Antique Association Hays Pavilion is a food service building offering pork chops, pork burgers, Polish sausage, chips, desserts and beverages during the spring and fall festivals.

Farm Equipment Storage - Building #3

The generically designated Building No. 3 is used primarily to store antique agricultural equipment that periodically is used to perform various farming operations on MCHS’s property. It is not generally open to the public.

Farm Equipment Storage - Building #1

The generically designated Building No. 1 is used primarily to store antique agricultural equipment that periodically is used to perform various farming operations on MCHS’s property. It is not generally open to the public.

The J.C. Anderson Home is the centerpiece of the Macoupin County Historical Society grounds. The 13-room home was acquired by the Macoupin County Historical Society in 1973 and now serves as the MCHS Museum, featuring exhibits and artifacts related to county history.

Local banker C.H.C. Anderson built the home as a wedding gift for his son and daughter-in-law, John C. and Lucy Anderson. The couple lived in the home until their deaths in the 1930s. The original structure was a one-story home constructed in the Italianate style of architecture. The second floor, attic and towering widow’s watch were added later as the family grew. With the later additions, the home combines elements of Italianate, Victorian and Stick architectural styles.

The home remained in the family until the 1970s, falling into a state of considerable disrepair. In June, 1973, the newly formed Historical Society had an opportunity to purchase the home, along with 16.5 acres and associated outbuildings, from Mrs. Jessie Crawford, the eldest daughter of John and Lucy Anderson. At that time, the home had fallen into an advanced state of disrepair. With donations and countless hours of volunteer labor, the home was rehabilitated and restored.

Today, the first floor is restored to resemble the stately surroundings in which the Anderson family once lived. Several pieces of furniture and a china service, owned by the Andersons, are on display. The second floor is largely restored to the home’s original state, but also houses some exhibit space. The attic area is home to historical exhibits, including an extensive military exhibit and a children's play area.

The J.C. Anderson Home was added to the National Register of Historic Places on November 5, 1992.

Our Museaum Home as it appears now.

The original home was built in 1883

Crittenden H.C. Anderson

Lucy Anderson on her wedding day

The Anderson home when purchased in 1973